A Tremor in the Archaeological World

The archaeological community has seen a rather large shift over the past two weeks. A contest to select seven new Wonders of the World has come to a conclusion, and not much of the ancient world made the list.

The original Seven Wonders of the World (sometimes referred to as the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World): (Source)

  • The Great Pyramid at Giza
  • The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
  • The Statue of Zeus at Olympus
  • The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
  • The Colossus of Rhodes
  • The Pharos Lighthouse at Alexandria

The new Seven Wonders of the World (Source)

  • Chichen Itza
  • Christ Redeemer (statue)
  • The Great Wall of China
  • Machu Pichu
  • The ancient city of Petra
  • The Roman Colosseum
  • The Taj Mahal

The new list was created by internet surfers voting on a list of sites, so naturally it’s raised some complaints from various groups, including UNESCO, the arm of the United Nations in charge of protecting world heritage (lower-case) sites. Some point out this was a popularity contest more than it was a consideration of each site’s merit as an actual marvel like the original seven.

I imagine both lists are going to end up living side by side once the dust completely settles.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.