Intelligence Breeds Unhappiness

Happiness in intelligent people is the rarest thing I know.- Ernest Hemingway

I’ve been thinking over this quote over the past few days. Some people tell me I’m entirely too sad. I personally don’t find myself down that often, but people perceive things differently.

So far, the best I can come up with is that people are more likely to tell me I seem down when I’ve got a project or three circling in my head trying to flesh themselves out. Maybe idea generation is accompanied by a pensiveness?

Or perhaps it’s because intelligent people tend to be aware of the world around them. They’re aware of not only what’s going on in front of everyone, but also what’s going on behind the scenes, and that’s a terrible weight to bear. Carrying that kind of baggage would rob any normal person of their happiness, though.

Maybe I should keep a mood journal- record how I’m feeling and what’s going on in each area of my life. Perhaps I could find a correlation.

Leave a Reply

