Dead Bunny Keeps on Hopping

I’m somewhat amazed to discover that Dead Bunny is becoming more and more popular. Many people have questioned my decision to have a mascot named Dead Bunny, but it appears to not be hindering his growth.

That actually pleases me. It means I was right! (I think it also helps that Dead Bunny is dead in name only. I’m not foolish enough to kill my own zodiac sign. Sorry.)

When I first dreamed up the crazy notion to have Dead Bunny mascot the math book (the one the kids asked me to write), I drew up what I felt was a long, yet simple, outline of topics that I would need to cover. I tried to organize it by topic, and then organize the topics into the order I figured one would have to learn them in.

Then, in a fit of total frustration, I created Dead Bunny Educational. Originally, I thought to just work my way down my topics list, writing one post per topic. It really hasn’t worked out that way at all.

Too often, I come home from work inspired by something that happened with one or more of my students, so I’ll blog that topic. Sometimes, I’ll have a series in mind, and post that. Other times, I find useful articles and videos that need to be shared with the world.

Along the way, I’ve been marking up the original outline to link to the post, adding in any that were written but weren’t on the outline. Tonight, I realized that I needed to do some heavy shuffling of the list, so I moved everything to Todoist. It turns out that of the topics I had thought of on my own, nearly half of them have posts now.

It’s pretty crazy, really.

I was surfing around Lulu tonight, and I’m starting to think it might make more sense to group related topics and release them in smaller books. I don’t know, though. At this point, I feel like I’m just brainstorming, just trying to keep myself moving forward so I don’t get stuck.

I’m just pretty happy that Dead Bunny is indeed going out into the world. I just wish I knew whether or not people are finding him helpful…

Leave a Reply

