Feeling Unoriginal

I’m at the end of my creative rope.

When I first started designing jewelry, I embedded beads in the box chain to soften it up…make it less harsh. It turns out that couple of years later, someone else did it and submitted it to a book. (I realize that doesn’t make me unoriginal, just in need of getting over my shy, introverted nature, which is never going to happen.)

When I suddenly took up writing fan fiction a couple of years ago, I thought it would be fun to incorporate my interest in doll lore with one of my favorite cartoons. It just seemed to lend itself well to doll craft. Within a few months, there was an episode on the spin-off cartoon that was turning characters into dolls. Given that the cartoons are Japanese and have to be written, created, and then translated before an American audience sees them, it really looks like I might have copied Takahashi-sensei…except I honestly had no idea until Zane was turned into a little voodoo doll (My dolls, at least, were far better quality, but that had a lot to do with the character behind the transformations.)

Even now, I have a notebook full of great story ideas, some with thoughts on how to execute them. I don’t share this notebook with anyone, and I rarely talk about something until I’m actually working on it. And yet somehow…I’m having to reconsider most of my ideas, which were original when they were written, because they’re showing up somewhere.

I’m starting to feel largely unoriginal.

There simply aren’t enough hours in the day for me to work on getting my ideas out quickly enough, especially not with my horrid work schedule. I don’t know what to do . I’m feeling frustrated, and I’m about to stop creating at all because of all of this. It’s just so maddening!

Anybody want to hire an idea generator who often seems to be ahead of the curve?

Leave a Reply

