The Animation Community’s Recent Losses

It’s been a rough couple of weeks for old-school animation.

First, Joseph Barbera passed away. That one made me so sad. I remember growing up on so many Hanna-Barbera cartoons. They were the first production company I was ever actively aware of, and despite my young age, I was more than willing to give any Hanna-Barbera cartoon a fair shot. Even as an adult, I’ve been excited when I could sit down to watch one. I remember Cartoon Network’s launch; it involved a lot of Hanna-Barbera shows. An animation exhibition (I think it may be touring at the moment) hosted by OMSI and Cartoon Network features a cartoon mini-museum where you can look at Hanna-Barbera memorabilia and watch old cartoons in little kiosks.

Let’s face it- those of us who grew up in the seventies or early eighties all probably have some sort of fond memory of a Hanna-Barbera cartoon.

As if losing Mr. Barbera wasn’t enough, the gentleman who created Scooby-Doo, a character in a major Hanna-Barbera offering still being remade, has also now passed away. Granted, I had little more than a passing fancy with Scooby-Doo as a kid, mainly because I found Scrappy very annoying. (I was an opinionated little kid.), but it turns out that my favorite voice actor Frank Welker worked on the show early on.

Funny how this all works out, huh?

Both Mr. Barbera and Mr. Takamoto had lived full lives…it’s just weird to see two legends go so close together.

(For the record, William Hanna passed away in early 2001. This is truly the end of an era.)

Leave a Reply

