Training in an Instant Gratification World

I spend just over half my time at work teaching. I’m a teacher; it goes with the job. Lately, I’ve spent a good chunk of my time training, monitoring, and retraining new teachers.

It’s been an interesting experience. Despite my lengthy experience in teaching and managing, I’ve never really had to do both actively at the same time. When you find yourself in this position, you notice something: regardless of what age we are, we have a tendency to learn the same way.

I’ll use myself as an example, because I’m something of a nightmare to fellow teachers. I pick things up fairly quickly and well, but I’m such a perfectionist that I don’t declare personal mastery until I stop making the tiniest mistakes. One of these days, I’m convinced Sensei is going to throw something at me over this.

It’s not terribly different with either my teachers or the students I’m training. Regardless of how challenging the material is, my teachers expect to understand everything immediately. This leads to fine details being missed, which leads to my doing a brief field retraining. The teachers would rather just learn the procedures and do their work. With my students, if they can’t pick something up or find a short cut, they give up immediately.

Somehow, the journey should be the point, not the instant solution.

Leave a Reply

