Change is a Way of Life

For some unknown reason, I’m having a devil of a time writing to this month’s topic. My mother has told me for years that I am unable to cope with change. Like any good Southern Belle, I’ve smiled gracefully and said, “All right, Mother.”

Inside, I’ve seethed every time she’s ever said that to me. I spent high school in a boarding school. Every couple of months, I packed up my most precious possessions and shifted between school and home. I deliberately selected a college in another state and embraced the move. In fact, I’ve settled into this pattern where I move every couple of years.

Yes, this means that every eighteen to twenty-four months, something compels me to pack up everything I own and willfully inflict change on myself.

Not bad for someone who supposedly doesn’t handle change well.

Truth be told, change has been a part of who I am since I was a teenager. It’s part of my lifestyle. It’s part of my personal life (my home is a revolving door). It’s part of my professional life (things are constantly changing at work, and part of my job is to make sure the changes are invisible). And while there are random times when I wish that everything wouldn’t change at the exact same time, I embrace change.

For me, each change is a learning experience. It’s a chance to see a new place, to meet new people, to learn new skills. It’s also a chance to flex my muscles, find a new way to use my well-honed skills. Regardless of how a change comes about or the nature of the change, it is a powerful motivator and instigator of personal growth. I wouldn’t be nearly the resource I am if change weren’t such a commonplace part of my life.

Leave a Reply

