My Intro to the Big Screen

What was the first movie you remember seeing in a movie theater?
Question submitted by mainmor.

I have this really great story involving Star Wars, the first movie I remember seeing in a theater.

When I was two years old, my parents took me to see Star Wars at a drive-in called The Galaxy. I sat in my favorite nightgown in the backseat and played with my trading cards and action figures, matching them to the scenes where I could. I had a great time!

When I was twenty-two, I was in the teacher prep program at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi. For the special edition release of Star Wars, I drove the two and a half hours (which was closer to two hours because i drive like a Texan) to San Antonio to watch it with my parents. The old drive-in was demolished long ago and replaced with a sit-down theater, still called The Galaxy, and this is where we went to see the special edition.

When I got back to school, people asked me how I spent my weekend. I replied, “Well, you see, long, long ago, in a Galaxy far, far away…”

To this day, Star Wars (in fact, that entire trilogy) remains one of my absolute favorite movies!

Leave a Reply

