Well, They Did Assimilate Most of Europe

Over the past week or so, I keep running into references to fictional stories where one of two things happens: Christians sing hymns to Egyptian gods, or Egyptians celebrate Christian holidays.

Granted, I’m not entirely sure about current Egyptian beliefs, but I really don’t recall Rome spreading Christianity into Egypt. I may be completely wrong about that, and I’m not really finding anything to suggest that they did. I haven’t done a really serious research attempt yet, though.

It’s certainly an interesting concept, though. Rome tended to conquer by assimilating a culture into their own rather than impose their way of life on them. One could actually make the argument if they had ever reached Egypt, they likely would have tried the same thing there.

I feel like doing a little research.

Leave a Reply

