Transferable Skills and Changing Careers

In this time where it’s not uncommon to have a career that spans different industries as well as different jobs, you may think you can only package your skills for the industry you came from, or that the skills you learned in one industry won’t matter in another.Believe me, I’ve talked with a number of people who believe this, and they all honestly look at me baffled when I start demonstrating that they have skills that are marketable in other fields.

It’s important to remember that there are many skills you may pick up in one industry that will aid in your success in another. When I started considering other fields, I found it useful to make a list of every single skill I have and consider how it applied to the new field. It helped me reshape my resume when I was ready to start pursuing jobs.

Monster also offers this helpful article on determining your transferable skills.

Leave a Reply

