Ancient Observatories

With the summer solstice roughly a month away, it’s interesting to note how many articles are starting to surface about ancient observatories.

I’ve always had a weakness for astronomy and ancient cultures, but it wasn’t until I got to Astronomy my freshman year of college that I was exposed to archaeoastronomy. My professor was a cosmologist, so we often got a bit of archaeology and anthropology mingled into our lectures. It was incredible! These people developed an incredibly advanced understanding of the universe around them without a single inch of what we would consider technology. I just think that’s fascinating!
Links to some ancient observatory information

Leave a Reply

