Design With Purpose?

People are often mistaking me for an archaeologist. I’m not. I promise I’m not. I wouldn’t turn down an opportunity to go on a dig as a volunteer, but I’m definitely not an archaeologist. If anything, I’m almost an amateur anthropologist. I spend more time reading folklore and researching science and religion practices for various ancient cultures than I do exploring tools and living structures.

It doesn’t change the fact that I only do it as a hobby.

The other day, I was reading one of the seven or so archaeology blogs I enjoy and came across an interesting article on geoglyphs in Chile. Neighbors to the long-baffling Nazca lines in Peru, there are some theories now that these large bits of artwork may actually have been a means of communicating information to caravans who frequently travelled the area. I think it’s just fascinting to think that these lines might have served as a primitive form of information architecture.

So much for the LGM theory, right?

Leave a Reply

