Oh, My…I Actually Can Sing!

I’ve spent the better part of the afternoon making voice files. It’s something I’ve been meaning to do since I started that series on why voice actors amuse me. Originally, I had intended to include some voice files in one of those posts to make my point about the talent these people must possess (even if I now know that my favorite production house does not, in fact, have their actors read in isolation. Good thing, too. I’d have thrown a fit if anyone but Wayne Grayson played Michaelangelo in the new TMNT show!) This turns out to be a blessing in disguise as it turns out that my free, but barely used microphone is dying. I’ll need to find a new one if I intend to make any more voice files.

What actually led to today’s impromptu recording session was a friend’s posting of this cartoon. I read it out loud repeatedly with no troubles. The more I read it, the more I thought I wanted it laid down because it is just a fun and chalenging line to say. So, I dragged out my microphone and my headphones and recorded it. That’s when I discovered the microphone was scratchy. It’s all right. I’m not doing anything professional, semi-professional, or pseudo-professional, so I don’t necessarily have to care.

This afternoon, I tried reading a couple of passages a couple of times for comparison. One of the most important things I learned is that I release a lot of air when saying “thuh”, “puh”, and “wuh”. I’ll have to work on those. I also tried a few songs, a couple of them singing along with the song in question (by my favorite voice actor no less). I’ve never really thought much of my singing, despite my middle/high school choir teacher, despite being put in the adult choir at church when I was twelve, despite getting some really fabulous scores on my singing in various competitions. Today, I was listening to myself, something I wouldn’t do normally, but I wanted to see how bad the scratching was. It turns out that when I’m not giggling, even if my throat is full of phlegm, I sing fairly well. I was surprised. (I could hardly recognize my voice, but that’s pretty standard when my voice gets recorded.)

I have considered a time or two since moving to Seattle going to audition for a local choir. I miss performing. I’d rather dance than sing, but my ankle pretty much says I have to sing if I want to perform.

Leave a Reply

