Games Are Good For You!

This is National Games Week. I’ve often thought it funny to have it during Thanksgiving Week, but really, when I think about it, it makes perfect sense. I don’t know about others, but I often play games with my family when we’re hanging out over holidays. I was in boaridng school for high school, so holidays were almost all I got to see my mother during the school year.

I grew up playing games and working on jigsaw puzzles during my childhood. I guess I’ve always loved them. Even when I left for boarding school and then college, I had a small box of small games that could be played alone or with others.

National Games Week is really mostly focused on low-tech games (probably obvious when you look at the list of sponsors), but over the weekend I learned about the Serious Games Initiative, and it made me realize that games are social opportunities, regardless of whether they’re high-tech or low-tech.

The socialization factor has always been my favorite part of playing any game. It is often over gaming that awkward children are helped to b ecome less awkward adults. I think I need to find an excuse to go round up people for a good game of Apples to Apples or something.

Leave a Reply

