On Reading

I used to always read one book at a time. It absolutely boggled my mind to think about doing otherwise. I just couldn’t wrap my mind around the idea of reading many books at once.

I suspect that if you ask me, I’ll tell you as much.

But looking at my bookshelf, a strange truth emerges. At the moment, there are two books with bookmarks in them. Earlier, there was also a magazine with a bookmark. (I finished that this afternoon.) I realized it’s not uncommon to see magazines, manga, and books in various states of being read.

When I think about it, I have always had multiple books running at the same time. I’ve just never taken it as such because I had/have very different attitudes toward books read for school and books read for pleasure.

It really does put the book section of the Weeklies list but not quite so serious.

Strangely enough, the same could be said for the writing section.

Leave a Reply

