Allowing Yourself to Have Silly Ideas

I just love this post by Curt Rosengren. He’s so right! I carry around a notebook so I can jot down ideas as they occur to me. Sometimes I end up with pages filled with cross-outs, arrows flying all over the place, and little doodles trying to illustrate what i was thinking.

I’ve learned a couple of things from this process. The first is that one’s man’s silly idea is another’s stepping stone to a brilliant idea. The second is that silly thoughts are necessary to help you recognize the good ones. The third is that arrows and doodles make everything make much more sense. (I’m a visual organizer.) I guess I pretty much agree with Curt on this one.

Leave a Reply

