Learning to Quill

As I may or may not have mentioned the other day, I have been learning some new crafts in preparation for an artistic competition later this month. One of these crafts is quilling, otherwise known as filigree, an art form practiced heavily in colonial times. It involves coiling paper and then pinching it into various shapes, although it is not limited to coiling the paper. The art form was nearly lost until a small group decided to try to revive it.

I became aware of the craft last year while reading through some of my mother’s craft books in preparation for this same competition. I opted not to try quilling at that time, but was definitely fascinated by it. Then, my aunt gave my mother another copy of that book, and it became mine. I’ve spent several hours looking over the quilling projects. It looked so simple, which meant it probably was a nightmare. Earlier this year, I came upon a quilling tool and strips in a local craft store. I figured I’d get farther if I actually acquired the tools, so I went ahead and bought them, but I still did little more than read my book. Then I got another quilling book and read it, still doing nothing. Finally, about a month ago, my mother came across a Klutz book for “twirled paper”. As a big fan of Klutz products, I just had to get it. For some reason, this seems to be the impetus I needed. I sat down and created an angel from teardrops. She’s rather…unattractive…, but she was the first attempt, and I was inspired to quill something else. This led to more reading. A lot more reading, actually.

Inspiration hit this time in the form of challenging myself to quill something for this competition. I got a small shadow box, and a piece of scrapbook paper that looked like the sky. I cut the paper to fit the box. Today, using my handy quilling books, I created two dragonflies and a number of flowers, and created a lovely springtime scene. It took me about seven hours and was rather easy and fun.

Leave a Reply

